OFF THE RACK: Mixing it up with blue

19 Dec

Here are more photos of my experimentation with mixing prints!! I have been fascinated with mixing ever since.. well probably a few months ago. I decided I was not very good at it, but as the saying goes, practice makes perfect! The thing about fashion is that not everyone is going to like everything. This can definitely be a double edged sword. I thrifted this bright blue blazer, pants, and purse from Goodwill on two separate occasions. I recently found the blazer, while that pants I had sitting in my closet unsure of how to wear it. They’re so loud, which is OK with me because I am sometimes loud. They work. I bought the top from Old Navy about two years ago… I love the purple flowers on it. Although I do not have a favorite color, if I had to choose, purple would be it.

Mixing is all about being bold and unafraid. If you are unsure of how to mix prints together, start with similar color schemes or stay in the same family of patterns. For instance, pair a big floral print with a smaller floral design. Try mixing diagonal stripes with horizontal ones. This is the easiest way to look extra cool and like you have an amazing sense of style without the worry that it doesn’t work. For bolder print mixing… find a color that runs throughout all the items to UNIFY them. Try to juxtaposition prints together like I did below: use a nature print with a man-made polka dot or artsy design. Architectural stripes go nicely with earthy animal prints like snake and leopard. Some sense of unity is important if you do not intend to clash. Straight up clashing is a lot riskier… but if it is done right, the payoff is tremendous and you can look editorial!
IMG_7998

IMG_7999

IMG_8001

IMG_8010

Leave a Reply

mylandscaperonline

Learn, Laugh, and Be Inspired to Create Something Extraordinary!

SACBOYEE!!

ALL SAC EVERYTHING

Lida's Film Blog

How To Be A Pretentious Film Major

Brittany Lee

Brittany's blogging quest to write for a living

#grlpwr

Three girls in a man's world - bringing the party back.

Rhythm x Rebel Show

Weekly Podcast on iTunes

Pauper to Princess

Confessions of a charity shop addict

A.L : As Written

Journey To "Of Blood and Ice"

A Glass Made of Plastic

an art-making, culture theorizing, self reflecting,music loving, coffee drinking Honours student.

